Electrical engineering, originally taught at MIT in the Physics
Department, became an independent degree program in 1882.
The Department of Electrical Engineering was formed in 1902, and occupied
its new home, the Lowell Building, when MIT was still located near
Copley Square in Boston. The Department dedicated its present
facilities in the Sherman Fairchild Electrical Engineering and
Electronics complex in fall 1973, and a year later, it recognized its
growing activity in computer science by changing its name to Electrical
Engineering and Computer Science. The Department's activities in
computer science, communications, and control moved into the
architecturally unique and exciting Ray and Maria Stata Center for
Computer, Information, and Intelligence Sciences in Spring 2004.
The primary mission of the Department is the education of its
students. Its three undergraduate programs attract more than 30 percent
of all MIT undergraduates, and its doctoral programs are highly ranked
and selective. A leader in cooperative education, the Department has
operated the highly successful VI-A Internship Program since 1917. It
has recently established a five-year Master of Engineering program,
under which students stay for a fifth year and receive simultaneously a
Bachelor's degree and a Master's of Engineering degree.
During its history faculty and students of the Department have made
major, lasting research contributions, some of which have opened up
entire new fields of study.
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science links
Visit the MIT Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science home page at:
Review the MIT Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science curriculum at: